Mammogram: FSA Eligibility

Mammogram: eligible with a Flexible Spending Account (FSA)
Mammograms are eligible with a flexible spending account (FSA), health savings account (HSA) or a health reimbursement arrangement (HRA). Mammograms are not eligible with a dependent care flexible spending account (DCFSA) or a limited-purpose flexible spending account (LPFSA).

What is a mammogram?

A mammogram is an X-ray picture of the breast used to detect early stages of breast cancer in women. It allows medical professionals to detect changes in breast tissues that may be irregular (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention).

There are two types of mammograms via American Cancer Society:

  • Screening mammogram: This type is used for women who have had no detection of breast cancer. X-rays are taken at two different angles.

  • Diagnostic mammogram: This type is used for those who had symptoms during the screening mammogram. It involves additional X-ray viewpoints.

Who needs a mammogram?

Women ages 40-44 should be given the choice to begin annual breast cancer screening with a mammogram. From 45-54, women should get a mammogram once a year. It decreases to once every 2 years from age 55 and up. However, there is no right or wrong age to get a mammogram. Those with a history of breast cancer in their families may want to screen for cancer earlier on. If a woman feels an abnormal lump in her breast, she should go to the doctor immediately (American Cancer Society).

Popular Categories

Don't know where to begin? Start with these popular categories to find the eligible items and services you need.
Popular Categories